Comfort Zones

Yesterday and today have been so busy, I barely had time to even consume a meal sitting down. Lunch was eaten while we had a person from Home Depot come out and survey our yard for the fence. It’s going to be a lot bigger than I thought! I ate the rest of my Kashi Roasted Vegetable thin crust pizza and a kidz clif bar. (chocolate chip, delish!)

I was basically a snacking monster and made a pb sandwich on an Arnold’s thin about an hour later. I have no will power, and was probably just thirsty, but it sounded good! Throughout the day I munched on grapes, too. We keep them out in the open in the fridge and it’s so easy to just grab a handful and go!

When Robert got home we hightailed it to the gym for a quick strength workout. I moved it to yesterday instead of Monday because my body was still so sore from the race. I must have really pushed it because my whole body hurt. Yesterday’s gym workout was a mishmash of fitnessista Intro to Iron Pumping and my own moves for chest, shoulders, triceps and a couple of ab workouts. Oh man my arms are screaming today. It had been far too long. 🙂

Dinner was a delicious pot of chili that had been cooking all day in the crock pot. It’s a recipe that is loosely based on one my sister gave me.

1 can tomato soup
1 lb extra lean ground beef
2 cans Bush’s chili beans
lots of chili powder
lots of cajun seasoning

I throw it all in the crockpot, adding more chili powder to taste as it cooks. I served it up on a whole wheat tostada made on the skillet.

This morning Robert had to get up for a workout with his work, and I took advantage of the early wake up call and hit the gym for some cross training on the elliptical. I did 30 boring minutes of intervals (I forgot my headphones AND my kindle) and then did lunges with 10 lb weights and squats with some ab work in between.

On the way to the gym yesterday, we ran into a friend from Robert’s work who invited me to join her Intramural 4 on 4 soccer team starting in February. My first reaction was “HA!” and then “thanks but no thanks”. I’ve never been good at sports. I played softball when I was a kid, but mostly played for fun and was pretty much awful. I don’t think I ever hit more than a double and that was probably out of pity from the other team. I tried out for softball in high school, but quit before the tryouts were even over because I was so afraid of stepping out of my comfort zone. I was afraid of looking stupid, getting made fun of, or not making it. In my mind, it was easier to quit than to try. It’s a huge regret of mine, and after declining the soccer team, I felt the same way. Why am I saying no? I was afraid. I didn’t want to look dumb in front of these women, who happen to all be officers in the military.

One of my resolutions for this year is to step out of my comfort zone, and do things that I wouldn’t normally do. And here I was, faced with an opportunity to do just that, and I gave in to my fear and said no. Right then and there I changed my mind. I may not know anything about soccer, or how to play, but what better time to learn than now. I saw our friend again this morning and told her I would do it. So now, I’m a soccer player.

I’m still afraid, and I’m still nervous. I have no idea how to play soccer, but I want to learn. I’m excited to be doing something not only with people I don’t know, but something that I have not faced since my freshman year of high school. It’s time to start facing these fears, and become a better person. Do I expect to suddenly become great at sports? Hell no. But I do expect to become a more outgoing and open person. And I can’t wait for that.

1 Comment

Filed under about me, exercise, life

One response to “Comfort Zones

  1. I actually saw a store today called The Comfort Zone, can you imagine telling people you work there!!

    Seriously though, props to you, baby steps are the best way to become fearless!

Leave a Reply

