Inspiration

After the Disney Half Marathon a couple of weeks ago, I literally felt burnt out on running. I had done two races in two months, and had been training non-stop (aside from a week due to sickness) and was just done. It had gotten to the point where it stopped being fun, and I felt like I wasn’t choosing to do it for the right reasons. The race felt amazing, and it was one of my most successful runs to date, but the next day when Robert and I were looking at races for the spring, I just wasn’t feeling it.

bringing it in for the finish

For the last two weeks, I’ve gotten back into weight training and cross training. I’ve done a couple of short runs, but nothing compared to the mileage I was getting during training. It’s felt great to get back into weight training, and feel sore all over from pushing myself in a different way. I still felt weary about starting a new training plan for another race. My heart just wasn’t in it, and I debated not doing another half in April.

And then, I got a package.

My aunt Mary sent me a box of some old cookbooks that she had collected over the years (which are amazing, I’ve already bookmarked like 10 recipes for the next week. Grocery shopping should be fun today!)

Along with the books was a little box from Brighton. If you aren’t familiar, Brighton has a large collection of beautiful charms. Many of the women in my family have Brighton charm bracelets, and we buy each other charms for birthdays and Christmas. I opened it up, and out popped this little gem.

I’m sure I’ve mentioned before, but I am a complete sap, and cried. I suddenly remembered the accomplishment I had felt from finishing my third race, and how much I loved running across that finish line. I had the desire to feel that way again. This little shoe inspired me to keep working, and keep running.

So I threw on my WDW race shirt, and went for a speedy 3 miler. I finished in 28:41, and got my running mojo back! My legs didn’t feel heavy. The air felt crisp and cool. And I sprinted across the “finish line” (the mile marker) and felt fantastic.

Inspiration can come in the smallest of packages. Thank you, Aunt Mary, for reminding me of why I do this.

So tell me, what inspires you?

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Inspiration

  1. I’m so glad you got your mojo back! 😉 I wish I loved running! What inspires me to workout is kind of silly, but I think about The Biggest Loser. If those contestants can get up everyday and train like intense athletes, I can surely spend 40 minutes on the treadmill or weight training.

  2. I imagine its rough to keep motivation after training for races. I competed in a fitness competition before and having to get in training made it so much less enjoyable. I like doing things because I enjoy them. That motivates me the most.

  3. I am a huge sap too, a sad commercial might send me into tears! 🙂

    I’m inspired by continually doing things that I never thought I could do. I can vividly remember how amazed/proud/excited/fabulous I felt when I ran my very first mile and I’ve been chasing that feeling ever since.

  4. To be perfectly honest, sometimes I inspire myself after doing something I thought wasn’t possible!

  5. I have to remember how I’ll feel after a run…not during. I love your Brighton charm! My mom has a whole bracelet and I have a cupcake…maybe I should have my charms reflect my priorities too!

Leave a Reply

