Once a Runner

It’s been awhile since I finished a book in 2 days, let alone in 2 days with 8 hours of work, 8 hours of sleep, and an hour and a half at the gym. My mom got Robert and I a book called “Once a Runner” for Christmas, and with the craziness that we’ve been calling life since the holidays, we haven’t been able to read it. Robert took it with him on a work trip, and finished it the day he got back. He said he had trouble putting it down, and as soon as he got home, I noticed such a change in his motivation. He had just flown all day, woken up before dawn to get to the airport, and wanted to go for a run when he got home. A long one. I held him off, knowing that I was exhausted and was unsure of even getting through my speed run that day, and did a fast 1.5 miles with him instead (fast for me anyway, it was about 14:10). He went out for a second loop, and I went in to make dinner.

He credited the book to his newfound love of training, after declaring being worn out from the last race’s schedule. I had been feeling the same way, just 4 days into a new training plan, so I decided to see what the “hype” was about (if one person liking a book can be called such a thing.)

IT. WAS. AMAZING. I couldn’t put it down. I read it during breakfast instead of watching the news. I read it at lunch instead of swarming Robert with a million questions and jokes and topics because DEAR GOD I had a human to talk to for 40 minutes.

I read it during and after dinner until I turned the last page. I would be reading the sequel right now if Robert didn’t have it in his grubby little hands (I mean that as a term of endearment, I promise).

If you are a runner, or thinking of running, or really just like reading, then get this book.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

