4 Teeth Lighter

Sorry for the lack of updates the last couple of days. Friday morning, I had an appointment to have all four of my wisdom teeth removed. This of course had a huge impact on my running schedule, which I was pretty worried about. I did manage to get my “long” run in this week, and it was so amazing! Even though I have the 13.1 distance under my belt, I wanted to start over with Hal’s plan for the 12 weeks (I’m still leaning towards the Iron Girl race on April 10) and really focus on speed. My previous PR for my long runs was 10 minute miles on the dot, and my six miler on Thursday was 9:30 pace! I was so excited!

Wednesday was a lighter cardio day for me because I knew I needed to do really well on my long run for Thursday. I did the elliptical for 30 minutes and then a power bicep and back workout. I was so sore but it feels great to be getting back into a weight lifting routine.

On another note, I officially signed up for my recreational soccer league! I already have my pink soccer ball picked out, we just need to go buy it and start doing some drills on the track field. I think Robert might be more excited than I am! 🙂 He’s such a great coach.

Back to Friday, my surgery went fantastic. They prescribed me to take 2 valium an hour before surgery, so I was basically a drunken puddle before I even arrived to the office. I cracked a joke about having food network on in the operating room, since I wasn’t able to have breakfast (my favorite meal of the day!) and then the nurse put in my IV. She said she was going to inject something that might make me itch, and that is literally the last thing I remember. The next thing I know, Robert is sitting next to me stroking my hair and the first thing I said was “when can I run again?” He had the sequel to “Once a Runner” in his hand, and I couldn’t talk (lots of gauze and very VERY numb) so I just made a running motion with my arms. The nurse apparently told me to wait a week, so it looks like my next run will be on Friday. I’m nervous about taking so much time off, but I should be able to cross train again starting on Monday without affecting any bleeding.

As far as recovery goes, I’ve been feeling pretty good. After I got home from surgery, I slept basically the entire day, and Robert went to get me a milkshake and basically every chocolate flavored yogurt and pudding they had at the store. He has literally been the most amazing husband. He has been so attentive, sweet and made me feel so at ease. Sometimes I wonder what I did to deserve a man like him. (Sorry to get so mushy, he just really has gone above and beyond to make me comfortable and happy!)

Today was more of the same, lots of reading, napping and we even started learning Chinese! We get free subscriptions for Rosetta Stone products, so we have been going through several of the beginners lessons for Mandarin Chinese. We are doing really well so far! It’s fun to do something so different together.

That’s pretty much all I have for now. My stomach has been all over the place and I haven’t had much of an appetite. Tomorrow we are having a small Super Bowl party, but I am well stocked in yogurt and applesauce. Totally better than hot dogs…right?

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “4 Teeth Lighter

  1. I’ve heard a lot about ‘Hal’s plan’ do you like it? I have a lot of trouble with my motivation to run and a lot of negative self talk…maybe a great training program would help? Good to hear your teeth are bothering you too much=)

Leave a Reply

