I’m becoming a foodie

But not a food blogger because I can’t for the life of me remember to take pictures of my food before I shove it in my facehole.

I have three AMAZING recipes, all involving Nasoya wonton wraps. They were located in the refrigerated section of my grocery store with all of the produce and tofu. But the commissary is kind of weird grocery store of sorts, so I’m not really sure where they would be located in say, a Publix.

Dessert Wonton Recipes:

Banana Chocolate Wontons (makes 8 servings)

1 very ripe banana
1/8 cup chocolate chips (could use more if you want it more chocolately than banana-y)
1 tsp light brown sugar
8 wonton wrappers
powdered sugar to coat

Preheat oven to 350. Mash the banana and mixed in light brown sugar. Fold in chocolate chips. On a greased baking sheet, lay out 8 wonton wrappers. Scoop about a tablespoon of the mixture (maybe less so it doesn’t spill out) into the center of the wrapper. Wet the edges of the wrapper with your fingers and fold over into a triangle. Press down the edges so they are sealed. Spray the top with cooking spray.

Bake for 8 minutes. Remove from oven and dust with powdered sugar and return to oven for another 2 minutes or until the edges are crispy. Remove from oven and dust with more powdered sugar if you are as obsessed with powdered sugar as I am (YUM).

Eat warm while the chocolate is still ooey-gooey.

Pumpkin Pie Wontons (makes 8 servings)

Preheat oven to 400.

1/2 Libby’s Pure Pumpkin
1 TB maple syrup
1.5 TB light brown sugar
1 t pumpkin pie spice
8 Nasoya Wonton wrappers

combine pumpkin, syrup, brown sugar and pumpkin pie spice in a bowl. Lay 8 wonton wrappers onto a greased baking sheet. Scoop a tablespoon of the mixture into the center of the wrapper. Use your finger to wet the edges, and fold over into a triangle. Press down to seal the edges. Spray the top with cooking spray and place in the oven for 10 minutes. Remove from oven and sprinkle with cinnamon and powdered sugar. Return to oven and bake for an additional 2 minutes or until the edges are brown and crispy.

Remove from oven and enjoy. πŸ™‚

Appetizer (or dinner recipe, if you eat enough of them)

Mexican Taco Wontons (makes 16 servings)
1 lb extra lean ground beef
1 packet taco seasoning (low sodium)
.25 red onion, chopped fine (or minced)
1/4 cup salsa
1/3 Mexican blend shredded cheese
16 wonton wrappers

Preheat the oven to 350.

Brown beef with minced onion. Add taco seasoning and salsa to mixture. and remove from heat after it is combined. Place the wonton wrappers on a greased cookie tray (or in a mini muffin tin, which makes little taco bowls-ADORABLE) Scoop about a tablespoon of the meat mixture into the wrapper and top with a sprinkle of cheese. Wet your fingers and fold the wrapper over to seal, pressing to make sure it’s sealed. Spray with cooking spray.

Bake for 8-10 minutes, or until the edges are brown and crispy. Serve hot with salsa, guacamole and plain greek yogurt (or sour cream).

So there you have it folks. You give me wonton wrappers, I make you three amazeballs recipes that you will just have to take my word for look delicious. πŸ˜€ If you make them, take a picture and I’ll post it!

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “I’m becoming a foodie

  1. Look at you! Those recipes look great! I know, it’s so hard to remember to take pictures when I eat. I’m trying though! πŸ˜‰ Thanks for sharing your new recipes!

  2. Those sound incredible. I might have to try the taco and pumpkin pie ones soon! But maybe I’ll have to save the first one for post-diet… I don’t think I’ve be able to stop!

    I, too, find myself slacking to take pictures of what I eat most of the time, unfortunately. I think it’s just a learned habit. You start doing it, then it just becomes second-nature! Next time you make these wontons, I want to see pictures just to ingrain exactly how amazing I know they are!

Leave a Reply

