Giving it Up Part 2

Happy Ash Wednesday! Today was my first time going to Ash Wednesday mass, and it was so interesting. I remember as a kid seeing my Catholic friends come to school with ash crosses on their foreheads, and was always so curious as to what it represents. I am developing such a better understanding of the Catholic faith by attending more often and putting more time and effort into it. Which brings me to what I plan to do for Lent.

Sacrifice: 1 hour of blog reading a day, and it cannot be during work hours (9 a.m. to 5 p.m.)

I read blogs when I’m bored, frustrated, need a break from a project or basically when I see an update on twitter. I still find so much inspiration from blogs, so I don’t plan to cut out reading them completely, but I do want to be more productive during my work days. One of the pitfalls of working from home is that you don’t have a boss looking over your shoulder to make sure you’re on task. It has taken me some time to adjust to being my own boss, and setting work hours for myself that are strictly for work. I don’t spend a lot of time on facebook or twitter during the day (I tweet occasionally, but tend not to read updates until later at night when I’m bored) but as soon as I see a blog post tweeted, I feel like I need to read it RIGHT THEN and drop everything to do so. I want to make sure I get as much work done as possible during the day so I can enjoy my evenings with my husband and puppies. 🙂

Devotion: I am going to attend church once a week, and finally get information on adult baptism and confirmation.

I have wanted to be confirmed for awhile now, but it seems to be one of those things that always gets put on the back burner. I wanted to make sure I was 100% comfortable with the decision, and make sure that I was doing it for the right reasons, and not to please anyone but myself (and Jesus, of course). Robert is completely on board with me on this one, so it should be easy to stick to. I’m hoping that this will continue beyond Lent, and be made more of a habit between us. I feel like sharing something as big as faith is something that will bring us closer together as a couple, and have something more in common.

The part I’m struggling with today is the fasting. I eat on such a routine you would think I was a toddler. I had a large breakfast of oatmeal, and planned on not eating for the rest of the day (I didn’t know about the fasting until we were in church, otherwise I would have saved it for lunchtime to fuel my workout) but I have absolutely no concentration or energy when I’m that hungry. I had half a sweet potato with half a tablespoon of plain greek yogurt on top for “lunch” and plan to have something very light for dinner (probably a salad). I googled the practice of fasting on Ash Wednesday (no blogs, remember?) and read that if you are active, it is common practice to have 2 smaller meals along with the large meal as long as the small meals are less than a normal sized meal. Normally my 3 meals are around 300-350 calories (which breakfast was right on) and the sweet potato was about 150. The salad should be about the same, and I am cutting out all snacks. I’m hoping the sweet potato is enough to get me through a three mile run! I can’t wait to go to bed so I can wake up and eat already. Is that weird?

Happy Ash Wednesday, everyone!

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Giving it Up Part 2

  1. Good luck with your lent devotions! I didn’t know you were suppose to fast. I’m not catholic but methodist so I guess we participate in a less strict form of lent?

Leave a Reply

