Reunited

I am very close with my family. My aunts, mom and sister would have girls day out once a month. I can tell them anything, and always turn to them for advice. I have the best brother-in-law in the world, and the cutest nephew that has ever existed.

It was really hard on all of us when I moved across the country. I used to only be a few miles away, and now I am a few thousand. We talk often, and I still call them frequently to vent, ask questions or just talk. But sometimes, when I get lonely or sad or upset, I just want a hug from my mother.

I think that’s the hardest part of being away. She lived miles away from my grandmother and only saw her once a year during the summer. They treasured that time together, but I am terrified of losing her and wishing I had spent more time with her.

My mom, sister, brother-in-law and nephew had been planning to fly out here for months. We talked about it at Christmas. We got excited. I planned trips in my head of all the amazing places I wanted to take them, and how much fun it would be to show them my life out here, and maybe reassure them that I am, in fact, okay. (They worry.)

A couple of days ago, my sister called me in tears. My 1.5 year old nephew was sick with bronchitis. They weren’t sure if he was going to be able to get on an airplane, and the trip might have to be postponed or cancelled. I felt so bad for my nephew, knowing he wasn’t feeling well, and also felt for my sister, who had been looking forward to her vacation for so long. I was afraid of not getting to get a hug from my mom. I just wanted the little guy to feel better, for his own sake and for my own sanity. 🙂

I got the final verdict last night, about 12 hours before their flight. They were coming out!!! It was such amazing news. Today has been filled with cleaning, laundry, organizing, preparation and excitement. They should be here around 10pm tonight, and I am so happy to be reunited with a part of me that has been missing since December.

I’m planning to do an easy 3 miler today (the weather is AMAZING) and then 11 bright and early tomorrow morning. I have a feeling that it’s going to be a great run! I am determined to PR at this next race, especially because it’s probably going to be the last of my “race season”.

I hope you all have a wonderful weekend! I know I will. 😀

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Reunited

  1. I was reading this with tears in my eyes – and then with such a big smile on my face. I’m so close with my mom, too. I’m so happy they’re coming out and that your nephew is okay! Have a wonderful time – and enjoy your Mom’s hugs! 😀

Leave a Reply

