4th Half Marathon Goals and an update

I’m back! Well sort of. My family visit was fantastic, and we had so much fun! I got some exciting news, and we got to enjoy some quality beach time together!

I took a break from blogging (not healthy living though, don’t worry) and focused on my work. I am in the process of switching hosting sites (adios godaddy), printing and assembling 100 wedding invitations, redesigning my web site and putting together a book to bring to trade shows of invitation samples. Basically, a whole bunch of work crammed into a few weeks. I’ve been trying to be really focused on this task, and I’m not going to lie, my “sacrifice” for Lent has been easier than ever to keep up with.

As far as training goes, things have been going really well. I did 12 miles this weekend, and have a week of regular training with a taper run on Sunday. We did this method for the Disney race, where we have a week of taper for our long runs the week before the race rather than running 12 and then have the race 7 days later. I have been focusing more on speed workouts (lots of 400m at 8 minute mile pace, tempo runs, etc.) but I don’t know if it is too little too late. I want to do another race this summer or next fall where I put a ton of emphasis on not missing any speedwork, and really pushing myself completely.

The race on April 10 has a few key goals:

The “if this doesn’t happen I better be dead or have a broken bone” goal: finish the race

The “if this happens I’ll be happy with myself and won’t bitch about it very much” goal: 2:10

The “if this happens, Jesus really does love me” goal: 2:00

Anywhere in between 2:10 and 2:00 would be deemed a success to me. I’m excited for the race, and hope that I can end my half marathon season with a bang. 🙂

Onto the next race, we have found a super fun 5K to run 2 weeks after the race. We both feel like this is the perfect way for us to not slack off on our running after the race or fall into a post race slump (which always seems to happen to me.) I want to focus a lot on speedwork for the 5K, but keep one long run a week (7-10 miles) so that I am always in “half marathon” shape.

On the food front, things have been going pretty well. I have lost about 3 pounds and feel like I’m at a comfortable race pace. I’ve gotten used to my calorie intake, and have logged literally everything into sparkpeople. No bite gets left behind, no matter how hard it is to figure out how to track it. I’ve been trying a few new recipes, but nothing major. Work has taken a lot out of me, and by the time dinner time comes around, a lot of my creativity flies out the window and I make turkey burgers.

Currently I am trying to buy tickets to see my all time favorite band Yellowcard in Orlando this Friday. I waited too long to buy tickets, and now they are sold out. I cried real tears. I’m trying to stay positive and am scouring craigslist and ebay for anything under $100 a ticket. I have to see them play. I HAVE TO.

7 Comments

Filed under food, half marathon, life, running, work

7 responses to “4th Half Marathon Goals and an update

  1. How exciting about your race!! I think you have some great goals 🙂 Good luck with it and with getting everything for work accomplished that you need to!

  2. Cute beach-y pictures! I like your new header, it’s new right? Otherwise I’ll feel very silly! Sorry to hear about your Yellowcard tickets, I hadn’t heard they were coming to Orlando! They really are an awesome band! Hope you can find some tickets:)

  3. I love Yellowcard!! I’m a little shocked they sold out though. they were MIA for a while weren’t they? I just heard their newest song the other day and I think it’s fantastic! I hope you get your tickets!!

  4. good luck with your race!!
    you’ll do great! 🙂
    congrats on losing 3 pounds!

Leave a Reply

