Monday (and April) Mini Goals!

Ah, another Monday is upon us. I had quite the interesting weekend that included a Harry Potter themed party where I consumed far too many treats from the Unofficial Harry Potter Cookbook (chocolate frogs, some kind of cake, and lots of all flavored beans), a trip to Universal to ride some rides and boogie down with Ne-Yo, and lots of running around and avoiding my grumpy husband due to a dead car battery.

It ended well, but it just seemed to kind of fly by. I have started to taper for my half marathon next weekend already. I did a 12 miler last weekend, and then repeated my training week this week (minus a 5 mile run that turned into a 4 mile run and then a 3 mile run that didn’t happen because I felt like I had been hit by a car.) I did a longer 6 mile run on Sunday to officially kick off taper week.

This week I plan to take it easy:

Monday: strength and cross train 30 minutes
Tuesday: 4 mile run
Wednesday: 30 minute tempo
Thursday: 2 mile run
Friday: Off
Saturday: Off
Sunday: RACE DAY!

I can’t believe I’m about to run my 4th half marathon in a little over a year. I never thought that it was something I could do, and now I’m starting to get the marathon bug. I’m going to squash it until Fall because hello, I live in Florida and there is no way in hell I’m waking up at 4am to get a training run in before it’s 90 degrees.

I have a lot of 5K’s and 10K’s that I’m looking forward to, and can’t wait to really ramp up my speed for the halves I plan on doing next fall!

Onto more important things: GOAL SETTING! I am a list-maker. I have probably 4 to-do lists going simultaneously right now, and I’m about to add two more.

MONDAY MINI-GOALS:
1. no candy or processed desserts/treats. – It’s a week before the race and I want my eats this week to be as clean and nutritious as possible.

2. make homemade pizza. – I might end up doing this tomorrow. I have all the ingredients I’m just afraid to make the dough because I’ve never used yeast before. Might end up jumping on the socca bandwagon.

3. Get in all training runs, even though it’s taper week.

4. run a sub 2:10 on Sunday.

5. drink 8-10 glasses of water a day

6. Carbo-load, in a smart way.

and moving onto bigger and better things, My April Goals:

1. Run a sub 2:10 half

2. workout 6 days a week.

3. eat more fruits and vegetables

4. eat less processed foods

5. run a 24 minute 5K.

So there you have it. Kind of basic goals, some of them are repeats. I’m really trying to focus on eating better foods, and not eating so much processed junk. This unfortunately includes Subway, because their wheat bread has HFCS in it, and I’m really doing everything in my power to avoid that. I’m trying to cut sugar all together because I think it might make me feel better physically. I’ve been having a lot of stomach aches and upset stomachs lately, and I think it has to do with my intake of sugar. Just a little experiment I’m trying out.

Happy Monday!

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Monday (and April) Mini Goals!

  1. I admire you for being such a runner! I wish I had your dedication. But you’re right – that’s freakin’ crazy to get up at 4 AM for a run. NO thank you! 🙂

  2. I’m jealous pf your Harry Potter, that sounds like so much fun! I admire all your goals and wish you lots of luck with them:)

  3. Did I read that correct? 4 half marathons in a year? Congrats! You should be so proud of yourself 🙂

Leave a Reply

