Resting on Empty

The phrase is supposed to be running on empty, but I haven’t gone for a run since Saturday. Since the husband and I decided not to make the trip to Pensacola for the race, we spent the weekend as hermits watching a million movies and baking cookies (him watching movies, me baking cookies).

And then, as luck would have it, he gave me his cold. I felt pretty bad Monday morning, but took a nap and woke up feeling a lot better. I hit the gym and did 30 minutes of cardio (mix of stationary bike and elliptical hills) and shoulder and back strength workouts. I’m about one click away from buying this book because I’ve heard really great things about it, and I want to focus on weight training.

Tuesday morning I woke up with a horrible sinus headache and achiness all over. The cold had officially arrived. I spent the day napping and waking up to play with the puppies, feed them, feed me (even though NOTHING sounded good) and then went to bed.

Today, luckily, I have no headache and no congestion, but I have a pretty upset stomach. I barely made it through my breakfast (pumpkin overnight oats with 1/3 cup oats, 1/3 cup silk soy milk light, 1/4 cup pumpkin, 1 tsp brown sugar, 1 tablespoon FiProFlax Medley and Smuckers natural PB added in the morning) and now I feel kind of barfy (sorry that’s gross).

I didn’t work out yesterday, and today isn’t looking good either. I have absolutely no energy and just want to sleep. I have a ton of work to do after taking the weekend off and really want to get this web site up and running by the end of the month! I am so excited to reveal it. I’ve put so much work into it and am so proud of where it is so far!

I think my body is asking for a rest day, and I’m going to listen. Sometimes I feel like it’s hard to take a rest day when I read so many healthy living and fitness blogs! I get so envious when everyone’s post starts with how great their morning workout was! But I really think the best way to get back to 100% and to let my body heal.

Alright, time to get some work done. Luckily, I can work from the couch today. 🙂

Leave a comment

Filed under about me, design, exercise, food, life, Uncategorized, work

Leave a Reply

