Like a Vegan

Hey! Making flax eggs for the very first time!

Madonna was in my head this morning as I tried my very first flax egg. I had several overly ripe bananas that were probably going to end up as trash since Robert hates the sound of the Magic Bullet trying to make banana soft serve.

I found ground flaxseed at our grocery store for a ridiculous price, and have been putting it in my oatmeal as a little added extra boost of Omega-3’s, vitamins and fiber.

I don’t know if I’ve mentioned it before, but my husband is allergic to quite a few foods, including dairy and eggs. So usually when I bake something, he’ll have to pop a few lactaid pills, or avoid it all together. But not this time!

I made banana bread. I made my own buttermilk out of apple cider vinegar and soymilk. I made two flax eggs in place of regular eggs, and combined whole wheat flour with white flour for an added health boost. I accidentally used too much milk, but I think it will taste okay. Oh, and I used almond extract because I was out of vanilla. It hasn’t come out of the oven yet, but the batter tasted pretty awesome. Here’s the recipe!

2 flax eggs (2 tablespoons flax with 5 tablespoons water, then let it sit for about 5 minutes)
1/3 cup soy “buttermilk” (mix 1 tablespoon apple cider vinegar with 1 cup soymilk) (I accidentally used the whole cup of the mixture. DON’T DO THAT.)
3 ripe bananas, mashed
3/4 tablespoon almond extract
1 tablespoon applesauce
1/2 cup brown sugar
1 and 1/4 cup all purpose flour
1/2 cup whole wheat flour
2 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt

Directions:
1. Preheat oven to 325 and grease a loaf pan.

2. Whisk together flax eggs and sugar until combined.

3. Mix in mashed bananas, “buttermilk”, applesauce and almond extract.

4. Add flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt. Mix until just blended. You can add whatever you want to it at this point (nuts, chocolate chips, etc.)

5. Pour batter into prepared pan. Bake for about an hour, until a toothpick comes out clean from the center.

Nutrition Facts:
(for 10 slices per loaf)

UPDATE: Only use 1/3 cup of the buttermilk mixture. 1 cup is way too much and the bread is very chewy.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

