I know what you’re thinking.

Jennie has obviously fallen off the face of the planet.

Well, I’m here to tell you that’s not true! Here’s what has been going down since my last post:

1. I got really into strength training and got to my goal weight.

2. I went home, worked out 4 times in two weeks, gained two pounds and had an absolutely amazing time.

3. Fell in love with coconut water, White Chocolate Wonderful peanut butter, and La Tortilla Factory tortillas.

4. Bought chia seeds and use them in my oaty-oats every day.

5. Started saying “oaty-oats” (never out loud, just in my head. And now on my blog…)

6. Finally got to see friends and family that I hadn’t seen in months, and in some cases, over a year.

7. Celebrated my one year anniversary with a hangover and some delicious cake from the in-laws.

8. Will probably never say “oaty-oats” again.

9. Worked my tail off on the business, ordering lots of very large, expensive items that still freak me out and make me want to pass out, run for the hills and work as a waitress in a restaurant until I realize that I am the luckiest person in the world to be doing what I love.

10. Realized that starting your own business means less time for blogging, reading blogs, watching tv, reading books and sleeping. (although I’ll never sacrifice sleeping. 8 hours minimum or I am scary to be around.)

11. Got my business about 1 month away from going LIVE. OMGWTF.

12. I can’t wait to share more Jenn Lane Design news with you all, but I still have a few weeks to go to work some kinks out. And then you will be so inundated with me that you will forget I ever left you for an entire month.

Now that I’m home from my amazing 2 week vacation, I was really ready to get down to business. I love how strong I was feeling with my strength training routine, but still felt a little lost when it came to cardio. Thanks to Tina at Carrots ‘n’ Cake, I fell in love with the Smartcoach on Runnersworld.com. I used it to create a model for my official sub 2 hour half marathon training! I turn 25 on October 7, and I would love to start my 25th year with a sub 2 hour half marathon under my belt. It has been a goal of mine for so long! Robert has started marathon training officially, which means I have my running buddy/coach/person who sets the alarm on long run days back and ready to go! Here is a link to my training plan, if you’re interested. TOTALLY AWESOME TRAINING PLAN

Using the smartcoach, I set up a 19 week training plan which includes 3 days of strength (1 lower body, two upper body) and 5 cardio days (crosstrain, long run, speedwork, and 2 easy runs) with 1-2 days off. I can do a lot of leg strength work at home, so if I don’t make it to crosstraining on those days, it’s no big deal.

I feel like this plan is really attainable, and I kicked it off yesterday with a strength training session (jelly arm workout linked in workout page), and then a 5 mile tempo run today. I started out with a 1 mile warm up varying between 5.5 and 6 on the treadmill, picked it up to 9:30 pace for 3 miles and then a mile run home for a cool down. The irony of calling this a cool down is amazing, considering it was about 90 degrees out and I didn’t have any water with me. I forgot to bring a bottle to the gym (Robert dropped me off on his way to work) and so I had about 3 sips of water over the course of 5 miles. Which is why the second I walked in the door I chugged a coconut water like it was nobody’s business. So that’s where I am so far.

I may not be posting every day, but I want to at least update my training to keep myself accountable. 🙂 I’m off to a work BBQ (not mine, obviously, since I only have one employee and I’m married to him) and can’t wait to dig in to some deliciously catered food and not make lunch.

Adios!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

