Give me a break

Considering I can’t remember the last time I had a Kit Kat bar, I don’t really know why the jingle came to mind, but I’m rolling with it.

This week has been long, stressful, tearful and full of those big “I’m 24 years old, what am I doing with my life” moments. I don’t have those often because it’s ridiculous. I have years of life ahead of me to figure this shit out, but this is what happens in my mind.

I overthink EVERYTHING. I wake up in a panic over the fact that I think I might have overdrafted my account and can’t go back to sleep until I get up and check every single bank online to make sure I didn’t. Yeah, I don’t very well.

That’s a pretty small example compared to the ailments that have thrown me out of bed lately. I wish I had thoughts that could easily be remedied by a quick trip to the computer for assurance. But when you wake up thinking larger, life-altering questions, there isn’t much to do but lay awake staring at the ceiling and willing yourself to believe that you aren’t making a complete mess of things.

I’ve only worked out twice this week, and today doesn’t look like it’s going to happen either. I think I’ve been pushing my body in so many directions that it just needed a break. I woke up feeling less than stellar yesterday morning (body aches, headache, sore throat and just overall I-want-to-sleep-all-day-ness) and didn’t do much but nap, read and eat. Luckily, Robert wanted to take the day off of life too and read with me. We didn’t turn the TV on once. We just sat with each other, reading and occasionally getting up to play with the dogs. It was pretty glorious, and I would love to do the same today.

I plan to go back to my regular life tomorrow. But for now, I’m going to continue my little break from life, read my book and maybe go get a Kit Kat.

Leave a comment

Filed under about me, exercise, life

Leave a Reply

