Massaging my Kale

Something about that title just sounds dirty, which makes me giggle, which makes the salad I made earlier today even better.

I need a new camera, because this is one meal that is not barf-bowl status, but it was actually quite beautiful.

In the mix:
a shit ton of kale (3 cups?)
a tablespoon of lemon juice
1/2 an avocado, cubed
6 cucumber slices
1/4 cup of diced red peppers
1.5 T raspberry vinaigrette

How I did it:
Pour the lemon juice and avocado pieces onto the kale. With clean hands, gently massage the juices into the kale so that the leaves are covered completely. Add the rest of the ingredients and toss gently. Let marinate in the fridge for at least 30 minutes. The lemon juice will keep the avocado from getting brown, so it can marinade for several hours.

The stats are pretty stellar as well. It came out to around 80 calories for a 1 cup serving and is loaded with fiber and healthy fats.

Monday’s workout left me limping AGAIN which I love. I did a mix up of cardio and strength training that looked something like this:

(yes, I have gym ADD)
10 minutes intervals on the elliptical
leg press, tricep dips, deadlifts, bench step-ups
10 minutes stairclimber (<–will be the death of me, but my butt is looking fantastic)
squats, tricep pushups, sit-ups, bicycle crunches, calve raises holding weights
10 minutes walking hills on treadmill at 3.8 speed

Tuesday:
30 minutes elliptical intervals (revved up the resistance to 12 this time, burning thighs ensued)
20 minutes jogging hills on treadmill at 5.0 speed

TODAY:
hasn't happened yet but I am planning on running 8 400m intervals at 5k pace (around 8 min. mile) with warm up and cool down
chest press, overhead shoulder press
chest fly, upright row with bar
lateral raise, incline chest press machine

Tomorrow is technically my Friday because Robert said we both need to take this 4 day weekend and waste it away on liquor, beach time and reading. I agreed wholeheartedly.

Leave a comment

Filed under about me, exercise, food

Leave a Reply

