I am a baby

As far back as I can remember, I have been a huge baby when it comes to not feeling well. When I was little, my mom would come pick me up from school, get me ice cream and Sprite and make me a fort of pillows and blankets on the couch. She would stroke my hair until I fell asleep, fed me mac and cheese, and gave me the healing crystal (it sounds strange, but she was a bit of a hippie and we loved that damn crystal.)

Even now, so many years later, I’m laying in bed post surgery and wishing Robert took another day off to take care of me. I love being taken care of. I didn’t plan on my mouth hurting still. To be honest, I thought I would be back to working out yesterday. I don’t see that happening today either, though. It’s difficult, because I’ve been so excited to be back on a new routine, with lots of strength training and getting faster with my runs, and now I’m afraid that’s all going to fall to the wayside.

I feel kind of pathetic to be honest. It was just wisdom teeth removal. I should be fine by now! But for the second night in a row, I woke up with searing pain in one side of my face, and had to go swish salt water and take another pain pill. I am really hoping this is the last day of this. I still can’t eat solid foods without it hurting. It’s not so much that I’m worried about getting food stuck, but it hurts to move my jaw so much. I have a pretty small mouth (that’s what she said) and so I’m pretty sure they had to pry it open pretty wide to get where the needed to go to remove the teeth. My whole jaw just feels really sore.

On the plus side, I feel okay enough to get some work done, which is fantastic because I’m REALLY excited about the project I’m working on. I’m almost to the production point of a wedding invitation order, which is my favorite part (besides design, obviously). I love just setting things up in an assembly line, playing music, and just getting into a zone and making beautiful things. I hope that the couple loves these invites as much as I do.

I’m also finishing up a logo project that went from something I wasn’t quite sure how to put on the computer from the sketch in my head to something that I absolutely love. I’m fine tuning some colors and placements, but for the most part, I think that the client will really like it!

My favorite part of this job is when I get that response that says, “I LOVE IT!” I love making people happy. I love taking care of people and helping them out with something that I am so passionate about. So I guess that brings it full circle. I may be a huge baby, complete with a headgear ice pack and my own fort of pillows right now, but I also love taking care of the people that matter to me.

Now I just need to find my own healing crystal…

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a comment